Monster Aesthethics confuse the hell out of me

I have to admit I’m very confused by Monster Aesthetics. But hey – let’s start where I started, with the shirts:

monsteraesthetics

monsteraesthetics2

See, not bad. Your classic upsidedown cross, casket and soforth – good design, bad photos, no problem here – I would wholeheartedly recommendt this to anyone. But then it gets a bit strange:

monsteraesthetics3

So, what’s strange about this? Well, in my world, patches mean stuff. It’s your preferences and opinions showing, and aesthetic preferences are not enough. This is like walking around with a big plackard with just a nice photo on it, for no good reason.

And then, it gets even “worse”.

monsteraesthetics4

Pre-studded, pre-patched and pre-bleach splattered clothing. This is where we head into no-no land, into clueless hipster scum land. This is where I turn my back and say I don’t care about the shirts, this is all too much for me. And why? Why isn’t it OK to treat patches and jackets the same way you do shirts – as decoration? Because it doesn’t adhere to the rules of the punk police? Because it goes against all DIY ethics? Because I get to decide what’s ok for others to do and wear? Yeah, pretty much. I’m not saying I’m not happy that this is one-directional communication and you can’t do much to argue with me, because it feels a bit asshole-y, but at the same time, I know I’m right.

One Response to Monster Aesthethics confuse the hell out of me

  1. Just came across this post on my clothing line, and I mean I guess I can kinda get where youre coming from, coming entirely from a DIY world myself.. My entire wardrobe is 100% DIY. Ive always made my own clothing for myself personally.. and thats really how the clothing line began.. I made clothing for myself, others were really into what i was doing, asked me to do some for them.. so i made more.. I 100% fully encourage the DIY lifestyle, all my shirts are hand printed and my vests hand sewn from scratch starting with a roll of denim, all hand stitched and hand bleached. I sell blank vests, patches and studs all separate for a reason. let people go at it on their own, however over time due to the insanely overwhelming demand from people asking me to stud their jacket for them or stitch on a patch for them, youd have to be a fool not to include at least the option. This shit is the only thing paying my rent, never had a “real job” my entire life, if someone want to pay me to stitch there patch on for them or stud their jacket why the fuck would i say no to that?

Leave a Reply

