David Koresh – “God Rocks” t-shirts, will they ever be reprinted?

If you’re old – like me – you may remember Waco, Texas. The Branch Davidians was a classic christian cult with David Koresh as their leader, treating the rest like shit, fucking whoever he liked – the normal stuff for leaders of the brainwashed believers, it seems. Authorities, drawing the line at child abuse, tried to raid the cult’s compound, ending up with a few dead cult members and FBI agents. Then followed a 51 day siege, which ended in an attempted storming of the compound, which then burned to the ground, killing dozens of cultists. The wikipedia entry is pretty interesting… those people were weeeeird!

Anyway, strange as it may seem- one of the things I remember most about the people in Waco was the shirts they had. Here’s what they looked like:

The guy playing guitar? You guessed it: it’s David himself. Apparently, these were made for all the members of the cult. David had his band insinde the compound, if I remember correctly, and they would rehearse for hours and force the other members (who were pretty much dead tired from working 14 hour shifts to feed the cult) to listen. I’ve always wanted one of these (sans the back print, if possible), but have never been able to find one.

Now it seems like someone is planning a re-print! And not just anyone, someone who was there at the time. Weeeird. I still want one though.

3 Responses to David Koresh – “God Rocks” t-shirts, will they ever be reprinted?

  1. Ron says:

    Yeah that’s me, and the shirt photos are of the shirt I still have. It belonged to Mike Schroeder, who was shot 6 times in the back on Feb. 28th by an ATF agent armed with a 9mm submachine gun. His son just graduated from the Air Force Academy last year. Doesn’t remember much about his dad. Not weird – we were and are people just like you.

    • I am pretty sure you found my post offensive, I know I would have if I had been targeted in it. On the other hand – if I ever join a cult that do half the things the Branch Davidians did, I hereby give you the green light to call me whatever you feel like. If nothing else (and in my book there’s plenty else), the time to get out of any group of people is when they start killing each other with axes in power struggles. Waaay before you get into a fire fight with the cops. Way!

      So… yeah, I try to be an open minded person, but I sometimes fail and this may be one of those times, because I will never agree with the sentiment that I am “just like” anyone joining a die-hard christian group. We are worlds apart. Worlds.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Is there any way to acquire one of these shirts?

Leave a Reply

