Beards – they grow on you.

Yeah, you may recognize the blog title from a popular beard shirt. Lately, it seems that beards have become… maybe not trendy, but… yeah, maybe they have become trendy. Not only do a lot of hipsters cherish their beerds, but the whole “I can’t just enjoy something, I have to make it a fucking lifestyle” curse has hit the world of beards in a big way. It used to be a fringe group of loonies that competed with their beards and after every world championship, there’d be a stamp-sized report in some newspapers about it. Now, they’ve got their own tv show going, Whisker Wars, and some of them think they’re freakin rock stars. It’s just a beard, ok?

There’s also been an increase in some sort of retro manliness, championed among others by the great blog The Art of Manliness, which advocates old-school manners, ideals and… beards (among other things).

So yeah, I have one too. Except for a few short, horrible months in 2002, I’ve had some sort of a beard since I was first able to grow one (looking back at photos of early attempts, I probably even started a year to early). Sometimes it’s been pretty small (duirng my time as a consultant), sometimes it’s been quite long and wide (during my years spent working for Greenpeace) and now I’ve got it somewhere in between – sorta long but not wide at all. To me, it’s a pretty conservative beard, but I know a lot of people have a lot of prejudice against them, thinking everyone with more than a 5 o’clock shadow is a biker/criminal/weirdo. Whatever. To be honest, my beard is more a result of being too lazy to shave and trim very often, than any concious fashion decision. I don’t exactly mind that it sets me apart a bit, visually, and that it conceals any extra chin you may pick up as the years pass by.

So, with beards being so trendy, there are bound to be a few beard shirts out there, right? There are billions! And that’s why I’m writing this. It’s not that I’ve done 2 years of research to find ALL beard shirts there are or anything, it’s just that a few have come to my attention lately, so – being the nice person that I am, I thought I’d share:

Let’s start with one that’s been featured in a lot of blogs lately, the beard measuring shirt. So… yeah, it’s a joke-ish type of shirt and it sort of encourages you to let others wear your shirt to measure their beards, which is a bit… yuck! I’m guessing I’m currently only at about “Hillbillily” at the moment. Get it here

Next up, some of the “let’s make it a lifestyle” guys: the Austin Facial Hair Club. So, just because I don’t quite understand them doesn’t mean I can’t appreciate their great shirts, right? Nice work!

Here’s one, pretty ugly, but still included because it says something about beards: they take time. You can’t just decide to buy one (like a fixie or whatever) and join the trend. Big beards take time. Get it here.

Unless, of course, you take the idiot route and buy one of these. In one way, they sort of make sense – beards do keep your face warm in cold weather, so a garment like this would do the same thing. But the sheer “oooh, look at me, I’m so cu-raa-zeee”-factor should make any sane person walk away briskly. Get it here.

This isn’t really a beard shirt, I just saw it the other day and decided it fit this post well enough, so…

Yeah, that’s about it, here’s some more beard shirts for you. Take care and don’t shave!

One Response to Beards – they grow on you.

  1. Pingback: Beards They Grow

Leave a Reply

