Book shirts

It’s weird – I have absolutely no problem wearing shirts showcasing what music I listen to, in fact that probably accounts for about 60% of all shirts I’ve ever bought (possibly more). There’s an entire science to this (to me, at least) – what bands’ shirts I would wear, what era and age they’d have to be, when and where you’d wear them – you know what I mean. And while I may, at times, have opted not to wear my “Teach your children to worship satan” shirt to weddings and work, the thought “do I really want to wear shirts that show people what I listen to” has never entered my mind as far as I can remember.

Book however, is a totally different thing. I have looked around for shirts promoting certain books, but I feel much more self concious about this. Don’t know why, it just feels more pretentious and snobby to show off your reading habits than your musical preferences. Weird. Feel free to let me know your thoughts on this.

Anyway, Out of Print make shirts related to books. I’m no expert, but as far as I can tell, the selection is based on american classics. Salinger, Kerouac, Heller, Huxley and stuff like that. I must say though, that while a lot of them are very nice looking, it feels weird to just put book covers on shirts, just like I hate music shirts with just a picture of an album cover on it.

I guess what I’m trying to say that I kinda like the whole concept, and some of these are good looking but I don’t think I’ll be buying any. If you feel differently, you can get them here.

2 Responses to Book shirts

  1. Pingback: More literary shirts – and great tragedy! « Shirts of Satan

  2. Pingback: Become a patron of the arts! « Shirts of Satan

Leave a Reply

